KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Exhibition

Yuya Suzuki

Post Language Realm

Yuya Suzuki, Post Language Realm, 2021, mixed media. Courtesy the artist.

In search of the ideal image and the sign system of a potential world that can be shared universally across cultures, Yuya Suzuki works on “archegraphs”, as he calls to them. He responds to the mundane things in the city, such as trash, architectural details, walls covered by torn posters or graffiti, shapes in nature – the leftovers that are perceived continually but unconsciously within urban landscapes. These non-functioning elements in public space are abstracted throughout an extensive drawing process and transformed into compositions of colour and shape that point to their origins and result in a new, complete shape for themselves. Together, they create Suzuki’s personal alphabet.

In his exhibition Post Language Realm at Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Suzuki shows an installation composed of 3-D objects, animations, murals and light boxes. The artist focuses on the potential and simultaneous impossibility of a universal language. Through his archaeological search for independent signs in public space, he turns away from hierarchical symbols that simulate power on the most diverse levels, for example in the form of brands or stereotypical images from the advertising industry.

Yuya Suzuki was born in Fukushima, Japan in 1983, and lives and works in Berlin and Sapporo, Japan. He studied at Nihon University College of Art and has received numerous awards and grants, most recently the Overseas Research Fellowship from the Japanese Government Agency for Cultural Affairs, Japan. His most recent solo exhibitions have taken place at Migrant Bird Space in Berlin ( 2020), Siao-Long Children’s Museum of Arts in Tainan, Taiwan (2019) and MUMU Gallery in Tainan, Taiwan (2019). Suzuki has also presented his work in numerous solo and group exhibitions in Europe and Asia. Yuya Suzuki is a grantee of the Bunkacho – Agency for Cultural Affairs, Government of Japan, the Nomura Foundation, Japan & Stiftung Kunstfonds, and Neustart Kultur, Germany. www.yuyasuzuki.com

Exhibition
16.04. – 16.05.2021
Tue - Sun: 2 - 7pm
Admission free

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Ausstellung

Yuya Suzuki

Post Language Realm

Yuya Suzuki, Post Language Realm, 2021, mixed media. Courtesy the artist.

Auf der Suche nach dem idealen Bild und einem Zeichensystem einer möglichen Welt, das über alle Kulturen hinweg geteilt und verstanden werden kann, arbeitet Yuya Suzuki an „Archegraphen“, wie er sie bezeichnet. Er reagiert auf die alltäglichen Dinge in der Stadt – architektonische Elemente, Überreste von alten Plakaten oder Graffitis, Formen aus der Natur –, die unbewusst in der urbanen Landschaft wahrgenommen werden. Diese nicht funktionalen Elemente werden in einem umfangreichen zeichnerischen Prozess abstrahiert und in Farb- und Formkompositionen verwandelt, die auf ihren Ursprung zurückverweisen und für sich eine neue abgeschlossene Form ergeben. Zusammen bilden sie Suzukis persönliches Alphabet, das sich in neuen Umgebungen stetig weiterentwickelt.

In seiner Ausstellung Post Language Realm im Künstlerhaus Bethanien zeigt Suzuki eine Installation aus 3-D-Objekten, Animationen, Wandbildern, Leuchtkästen und Skulpturen. Das Potenzial und gleichzeitig die Unmöglichkeit einer universellen Sprache stehen dabei im Fokus des Künstlers. Durch seine archäologische Suche nach freien Formen im öffentlichen Raum wendet er sich von hierarchischen Symbolen ab, die in Gestalt von Marken, Klischeebildern oder Werbung auf unterschiedlichsten Ebenen Macht simulieren.

Yuya Suzuki wurde 1983 in Fukushima, Japan, geboren und lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Sapporo, Japan. Er studierte am College of Art der Nihon University und erhielt zahlreiche Preise und Stipendien, zuletzt das Oversea Research Fellowship der Japanese Government Agency for Cultural Affairs. Neben seinen jüngsten Einzelausstellungen im Migrant Bird Space in Berlin (2020), im Siao-Long Children’s Museum of Arts in Tainan, Taiwan (2019), und in der MUMU Gallery in Tainan (2019), wurden seine Arbeiten in zahlreichen weiteren Ausstellungen in Europa und Asien präsentiert. Er ist Stipendiat von Bunkacho – Agency for Cultural Affairs, Government of Japan, sowie der Nomura Foundation und erhielt eine Förderung im Rahmen des Programms Neustart Kultur der Stiftung Kunstfonds, Bonn. www.yuyasuzuki.com

AUSSTELLUNG
16.04. – 16.05.2021
Di - So: 14 - 19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

KÜNSTLERPORTRAIT
Yuya Suzuki