KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Exhibition

Melanie Jame Wolf

Two Years Elapse Between the Third and Fourth Act

Melanie Jame Wolf, Tribute #1, 2020. Photo: Alexander Coggin. Courtesy the artist.

In her solo exhibition Two Years Elapse Between the Third and Fourth Act at Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Melanie Jame Wolf presents a video installation consisting of a new film and a series of textile works. The exhibition explores the idea of “the rehearsal” in both theatrical and everyday contexts, understanding it as a strategy of repetitive practices that people use to prepare for imagined, fantastic embodiment in speculative future scenarios.

This exhibition continues the through line in Wolf’s practice of dissecting specific performance techniques as a lens for unpacking broader contemporary social and cultural currents. This meta-theatricality occurs in the film ‘Understudies’ through seven performers inhabiting the singular role of The Actress. The Actresses rehearse variations of Nina’s monolog from Chekhov’s The Seagull, atomising the text by means of seriously playful repetition to render it both sublime and ridiculous. The specified labour of staging oneself is simultaneously made visible. ‘You have no idea what it is like to not know what to do with your hands! Now I am changed! ‘, The Actresses rehearse whilst the fabric backgrounds that frame them are constantly replaced. A selection of these textile works is featured in the exhibition alongside the film.

In her work Melanie Jame Wolf deals with the poetics and problematics of class, pop, sensuality, gender, narratology and the body as a political riddle. She plays with performance techniques such as imitation, the melodrama or stand-up, using performance as the motor to understand and highlight the fluidity of subjectivity from a queer-feminist perspective.

Melanie Jame Wolf was born in Australia and currently lives in Berlin. Her work has been shown in numerous exhibitions and screenings worldwide including: HAU – Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin; Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Art, Helsinki; nGbK Berlin, The National 2019: New Australian, Carriageworks, Sydney; Festival of Live Art, Melbourne; VAEFF Film Festival, New York; Arts Santa Mònica, Barcelona, Schwules Museum, Berlin; Sophiensæle, Berlin; Münchener Kammerspiele; Arts House, Melbourne and the Institute of Modern Art, Brisbane. Melanie Jame Wolf is a grantee of the Australia Arts Council. www.savage-amusement.com

Exhibition
16.04. – 16.05.2021
Tue - Sun: 2 - 7pm
Admission free

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Ausstellung

Melanie Jame Wolf

Two Years Elapse Between the Third and Fourth Act

Melanie Jame Wolf, Tribute #1, 2020. Foto: Alexander Coggin. Courtesy the artist.

In ihrer Einzelausstellung Two Years Elapse Between the Third and Fourth Act im Künstlerhaus Bethanien präsentiert Melanie Jame Wolf eine Videoinstallation bestehend aus ihrem neuen Film Understudies und einer Reihe von Textilarbeiten. Die Ausstellung erkundet die Idee der „Probe“ sowohl in theatralischen als auch in alltäglichen Kontexten und versteht diese als Strategie sich wiederholender Praktiken, die Menschen nutzen, um sich auf imaginierte, fantastische Darstellungen ihrer selbst in möglichen zukünftigen Situationen vorzubereiten.

In der Ausstellung setzt sich Wolfs Praxis fort, spezifische Performancetechniken ins Visier zu nehmen, um gegenwärtige soziale und kulturelle Tendenzen offenzulegen. Diese metatheatrale Auseinandersetzung wird in ihrem Film Understudies durch sieben Darstellerinnen offenbar, die alle die Rolle einer Solo-Schauspielerin verkörpern. Sie proben Variationen von Ninas Monolog aus Tschechows Die Möwe und lösen den Text durch ernste und spielerische Wiederholungen auf, um ihn sowohl erhaben als auch lächerlich zu machen. Die gleichzeitige Aufgabe der Selbstinszenierung wird dabei sichtbar gemacht. „Du weißt nicht, wie es ist, wenn man nicht weiß, was man mit den Händen machen soll! Jetzt habe ich mich verändert!“, so proben die Schauspielerinnen, während die Stoffkulissen, die sie umrahmen, ständig wechseln. Eine Auswahl dieser textilen Arbeiten, die von der Künstlerin zum ersten Mal gezeigt werden, ist in der Ausstellung zu sehen.

Wolf beschäftigt sich mit der Poetik und Problematik von Klasse, Pop, Sinnlichkeit, Gender, Narratologie und dem Körper als politischem Rätsel. Die Künstlerin spielt mit Performancetechniken wie der Imitation, dem Melodrama oder dem Stand-up und nutzt Performance als Motor, um die Fluidität der Subjektivität aus einer queer-feministischen Perspektive heraus zu verstehen und zu beleuchten.

Melanie Jame Wolf ist in Australien geboren und lebt derzeit in Berlin. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen Ausstellungen und Screenings weltweit gezeigt, darunter: HAU – Hebbel am Ufer, Berlin, Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Art, Helsinki, nGbK Berlin, The National 2019: New Australian, Carriageworks, Sydney, Festival of Live Art, Melbourne, VAEFF Film Festival, New York, Arts Santa Mònica, Barcelona, Schwules Museum, Berlin, Sophiensæle, Berlin, Münchener Kammerspiele, Arts House, Melbourne, Institute of Modern Art, Brisbane. Melanie Jame Wolf ist Stipendiatin des Australia Arts Council. www.savage-amusement.com

AUSSTELLUNG
16.04. – 16.05.2021
Di - So: 14 - 19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

KÜNSTLERPORTRAIT
Melanie Jame Wolf