KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Exhibition

Savaş Boyraz

the State we are in

In his works, photographer Savas Boyraz sheds a critical light on the landscapes of his origin and descendance, with which he feels strong ties. Some of his early works are based on documentary photo series about the common people in South Eastern Anatolia: people in a state of transition, travellers or migrants.
Boyraz’s cinematic perspective, his specific narrative approach and his conceptual interest converge from differing directions within the framework of his works, so enabling striking images of social inequality, the architecture of violence, and an understanding of material and psychological damage and its significance. In 2016 Boyraz began working on the State we are in. The multilayered cinematic narrative shows images of destruction from the perspective of those affected. Boyraz uses mainly found objects to describe an anthology of state violence beyond territorial and temporal borders. The critical commentary in his works deals with the global phenomena of a military economy and its instruments of power, which are changing both urban and rural areas from the Middle East to Latin America.
Boyraz’s presentation brings together video and photo works from the years 2018 and 2019 in the context of an exhibition design conceived especially for the location. The body of works entitled the State we are in forms the centre point of his installation, which unfolds from the artist’s reflections on Pablo Picasso’s world famous painting “Guernica”, one successful attempt to make the horrors of war and violence universally tangible. Boyraz’s exhibition promises a critical promenade of narrative politics to unfold stories from destroyed cities, militarist gentrification and architectures of violence. This specific tone of grey colour is borrowed from the artist’s memories of state offices, schools etc., and refers to “the state we used to be able to define” whereas the immediate actions in the monitors compose such a state of statelessness. Eventually, there is no state, there are no citizens, but mountains.

Exhibition
11.04. – 05.05.2019
Tue - Sun: 2 - 7pm
Admission free

Opening
11.04.2019
7 pm

Savaş Boyraz is a grantee of IASPIS

SAHA provided production support for Savaş Boyraz

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Ausstellung

Savaş Boyraz

the State we are in

Der Fotograf Savaş Boyraz beleuchtet in seinen Arbeiten kritisch die Landschaften seiner Heimat, denen er sich verbunden fühlt. Einige seiner frühen Arbeiten basieren auf dokumentarischen Fotoserien über die einfachen Menschen in Südostanatolien: Menschen in einem Zustand des Übergangs, Reisende oder Migranten.
Boyraz’ filmischer Blick, seine spezielle Erzählweise und sein konzeptuelles Interesse treffen im Rahmen seiner Arbeiten aus unterschiedlichen Richtungen aufeinander und lassen eindringliche Bilder über soziale Ungleichheit, die Architektur von Gewalt und ein Verständnis für die Bedeutung materieller und seelischer Beschädigung entstehen. 2016 begann Boyraz die Arbeit an der Videoarbeit the State we are in. Die vielschichtige filmische Erzählung zeigt Bilder der Zerstörung aus dem Blickwinkel der Betroffenen. Boyraz benutzt vorgefundene Objekte zur Beschreibung einer Anthologie staatlicher Gewalt jenseits von territorialen und zeitlichen Grenzen. Die kritischen Anmekungen in seinen Werken beziehen sich auf globale Phänomene einer miltitärischen Ökonomie und ihrer Machtinstrumente, die vom Nahen Osten bis Lateinamerika Städte und ländliche Gebiete gleichermaßen verändert.
Boyraz‘ Ausstellung im Künstlerhaus vereint Video- und Fotoarbeiten aus den Jahren 2018 und 2019. Die  Werkreihe  the State we are in bildet den Mittelpunkt der Installation, die sich ausgehend von einer Reflexion des Künstlers über Pablo Picassos welt-berühmtes Gemälde „Guernica“ entfaltet, mit dem es Picasso gelang, die Schrecken des Krieges universell begreiflich zu machen. Die Ausstellung verspricht einen kritischen Gang durch Erzählstrategien, um Geschichten von zerstörten Städten, militaristischer Gentrifizierung und Architekturen der Gewalt aufzuzeigen. Der spezifische Grauton ist in den Erinnerungen des Künstlers mit Staatsämtern, Schulen usw. verbunden und bezieht sich auf „den Status, den wir früher definieren konnten“, während die unmittelbaren Aktionen, die auf den Monitoren zu sehen sind,  einen Status der Staatenlosigkeit abbilden. Schließlich sind dort kein Staat und keine Bürger, sondern Berge zu sehen.

AUSSTELLUNG
11.04. – 05.05.2019
Di - So: 14 - 19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

ERÖFFNUNG
11.04.2019
19 Uhr

KÜNSTLERPORTRAIT
Savas Boyraz

Savaş Boyraz ist Stipendiat von IASPIS

Die Produktion seiner Ausstellung wurde unterstützt durch SAHA