KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Artist

Kanako Ishii

Japan

Re-Landscape, mixed media installation, 2016

Kanako Ishii’s interest lays in the analysis of metaphysical borders such as past – present, remembered – forgotten or presence – absence. 
She calls these metaphysical borders “grey sensations”.
Metaphorically, she senses these borders as grey nuances. Even though achromatic colours like grey are usually seen as a composition of black and white, Ishii regards grey as a mixture of multiple colours.
When she encounters those grey boundaries, she captures them from various angles – through curtains, from a distance, or from heights of different people. She sees her camera finder functioning as a “window” – the eyes of implied individuals. No matter how much detail the images captured, Ishii senses that there is something like a thin “curtain” draped over them – the memories attached.
Her works are often installation pieces, portraying impressions that she gathered. They are artefacts from the dream-like memory, transcending between time and space. Her body of works is constantly growing and becoming an archive of the “grey sensations” that she has collected.

STAY
15.10.2017 – 15.10.2018

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Künstler

Kanako Ishii

Japan

Re-Landscape, Mixed Media Installation, 2016

Kanako  Ishii’s künstlerisches Interesse besteht in der Analyse metaphysischer Grenzen und Gegensätze wie Vergangenheit – Gegenwart, Erinnerung – Vergessen oder Anwesenheit – Abwesenheit. Die von ihr metaphorisch als graue Nuancen wahrgenommenen Abgrenzungen beschreibt sie als „grey sensations“.

Zumeist wird die unauffällig achromatisch scheinende Farbe Grau als eine Zusammensetzung von schwarz und weiß betrachtet, wohingegen Ishii grau als eine Mischung multipler Farben sieht.
Auf die grauen Grenzen treffend, fängt sie diese aus verschiedenen Winkeln ein: durch Vorhänge hindurch, aus der Ferne oder aus der Perspektive von Personen verschiedener Körpergröße. Den Sucher ihrer Kamera benutzt sie als „Fenster“, gleich Augen indirekt anwesender Individuen. Ungeachtet dessen, wie viele Details in einer Fotografie eingefangen wurden, nimmt Ishii sie durch eine Art dünnen „Vorhang“ wahr, der sich über die Bilder gelegt hat und an dem die Erinnerungen haften.
Viele ihrer Werke sind Installationen, die von ihr gesammelte Eindrücke porträtieren. So entstehen Artefakte einer traumgleichen Erinnerung, transzendierend zwischen Raum und Zeit. Ihr Oeuvre wächst stetig und formt sich so zu einem Archiv der „grey sensations“, das sie mit der Zeit zusammengestellt hat.

AUFENTHALT
15.10.2017 – 15.10.2018

WEBSEITE
kanakoishii.com

Stipendiatin
von Bunkacho, Japan