KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Ausstellung

Berlin.Status [2]

including Song-Ming Ang, Thomas Chapman, Simon Denny, John Kleckner, Tim Plamper, Sophia Pompéry, Despina Stokou

x
Lise Chevalier with her work

Lise Chevalier with her work "Il faudra trois saisons..." in the exhibition, photo: Szu Szabó

Mariechen Danz,

Mariechen Danz, "body/ydob, a flayed mirage", 2012, photo: Szu Szabó

Claas Gutsche in front of his work

Claas Gutsche in front of his work "Der neue Mensch (Chemnitz)", 2013. photo: Szu Szabó

Emma Waltraud Howes and her installation

Emma Waltraud Howes and her installation "Ankyloglossia (n. Tongue-tie)", 2013, photo: Szu Szabó

Nuri Koerfer, „Bss“, „Bsssss“ and „Bssssssss“, all 2013, photo: Szu Szabó

Nuri Koerfer, „Bss“, „Bsssss“ and „Bssssssss“, all 2013, photo: Szu Szabó

Exhibition view with works by Nik Nowak (foreground), John Kleckner (back left) and Claas Gutsche (back right), photo: Szu Szabó

Exhibition view with works by Nik Nowak (foreground), John Kleckner (back left) and Claas Gutsche (back right), photo: Szu Szabó

Exhibition view with visitors, photo: Szu Szabó

Exhibition view with visitors, photo: Szu Szabó

Robert Seidel in front of his work

Robert Seidel in front of his work "Chiral, 2010 (Berlin version 2013)", photo: Szu Szabó

Julius von Bismarck with his work in the exhibition, photo: Szu Szabó

Julius von Bismarck with his work in the exhibition, photo: Szu Szabó

BERLIN.STATUS [2] marks the second survey of new tendencies and trends in Berlin’s art scenes, undertaken by the curators Sven Drühl and Christoph Tannert. It has been a little over a year since BERLIN.STATUS [1], a period in which a lot happens in Berlin.
A boom on the art and creative scenes and gentrification are two aspects of this structural change that are putting the German capital under tremendous pressure; slowly, they are bringing in their wake a reconsideration of strategic land use and housing policy. Berlin is still a dream destination for young artist nomads from all over the world. There is a huge potential of artistic sensitivity in the city, but most of these creative individuals can do no more than keep their heads above water in an extremely precarious situation. At the same time, Berlin is being inundated by tourists. Rents rise and go on rising. The same is true of radicalism.
Many artists are well aware of such aggravations in the inner-city climate but respond in extremely different ways. Relentless overheating in a capitalist system driven by the financial markets is reflected in the anachronism of those artistic urban guerrillas who first pretend outrage, then appear quite sedate and ready for compromise; who either rebel against politics with hidden aggression or make the world that is awry into an aesthetic theme in itself. In all this, simple truths in both politics and art are hard to come by.
BERLIN.STATUS [2] focuses on artists born from 1978–1984. The publication and exhibition of works by more than 50 artists permit a look ahead to the potentials of the youngest generation of artists, although they made quite clear even during preparations for the exhibition that there would be no big bang after which everything would be different. Nonetheless, there is a broad spectrum of interventionist thinking and image-manipulating approaches, with a lot of video art, some painting, non-figurative objects and the tendency towards low-budget materials that is so typical of Berlin.
(Sven Drühl / Christoph Tannert)

Participating artists:
David Adamo, Song-Ming Ang, Julius von Bismarck, Thomas Chapman, Lise Chevalier, Mariechen Danz, Simon Denny, Uros Djurovic, Peter Dobroschke, Aleksandra Domanovic, Antje Engelmann, Larissa Fassler, Thilo Frank, Max Frisinger, Wolfgang Ganter, Stefanie Gutheil, Claas Gutsche, Emma Waltraud Howes, Michelle Jezierski, John Kleckner, Christoph Knäbich, Nuri Koerfer, Clemens Krauss, MARCELLVS L., Cyrill Lachauer, Oliver Laric, Daniel Lergon,Jennis Cheng Tien Li, Philip Loersch, Song Lu, Nik Nowak, Tim Plamper, Sophia Pompéry, Gabriel Rossell Santillán, Moritz Schleime, Dennis Scholl, Bettina Scholz, Sarah Schönfeld, Robert Seidel, Pola Sieverding, Natalia Stachon, Tim Stapel, Despina Stokou, Henning Strassburger, Asli Sungu, Reijiro Wada, Johannes Weiss, Clemens Wilhelm, Jordan Wolfson, Michael Wutz, Hui Zhang

 

Exhibition
24.05. – 16.06.2013
Tue - Sun: 2 - 7pm
Admission free

Opening
23.05.2013
7 - 10 pm

With generous support from the Governing Mayor of Berlin, Senate Offices – Cultural Affairs

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Ausstellung

Berlin.Status [2]

u.a. mit Song-Ming Ang, Thomas Chapman, Simon Denny, John Kleckner, Tim Plamper, Sophia Pompéry, Despina Stokou

x
Lise Chevalier und ihr Werk „Il faudra trois saisons...

Lise Chevalier und ihr Werk „Il faudra trois saisons..." in der Ausstellung, Foto: Szu Szabó

Mariechen Danz,

Mariechen Danz, "body/ydob, a flayed mirage", 2012, Foto: Szu Szabó

Claas Gutsche vor seinem Werk

Claas Gutsche vor seinem Werk "Der neue Mensch (Chemnitz)", 2013, Foto: Szu Szabó

Emma Waltraud Howes und ihre Installation

Emma Waltraud Howes und ihre Installation "Ankyloglossia (n. Tongue-tie)", 2013, Foto: Szu Szabó

Nuri Koerfer, „Bss“, „Bsssss“ und „Bssssssss“, alle 2013, Foto: Szu Szabó

Nuri Koerfer, „Bss“, „Bsssss“ und „Bssssssss“, alle 2013, Foto: Szu Szabó

Ausstellungsansicht mit Werken von Nik Nowak (vorn), John Kleckner (hinten links) und Claas Gutsche (hinten rechts), Foto: Szu Szabó

Ausstellungsansicht mit Werken von Nik Nowak (vorn), John Kleckner (hinten links) und Claas Gutsche (hinten rechts), Foto: Szu Szabó

Ausstellungsansicht mit Besuchern, Foto: Szu Szabó

Ausstellungsansicht mit Besuchern, Foto: Szu Szabó

Robert Seidel vor seinem Werk

Robert Seidel vor seinem Werk "Chiral, 2010 (Berliner Fassung 2013)", Foto: Szu Szabó

Julius von Bismarck mit Werk in der Ausstellung, Foto: Szu Szabó

Julius von Bismarck mit Werk in der Ausstellung, Foto: Szu Szabó

Mit BERLIN.STATUS [2] sind die Kuratoren Sven Drühl und Christoph Tannert gut ein Jahr nach BERLIN.STATUS [1] zu einer neuerlichen Bestandsaufnahme künstlerischer Tendenzen in der Metropole angetreten – ein Zeitraum, in dem in Berlin eine ganze Menge passiert.
Der Boom der Kunst- und Kreativszenen und die Gentrifizierung sind zwei Seiten des Strukturwandels, die die deutsche Hauptstadt gehörig unter Druck setzen und langsam ein Umdenken in der strategischen Flächen- und Wohnungs-Politik nach sich ziehen. Nach wie vor ist Berlin ein Traumziel junger Künstlernomaden aus aller Welt und verzeichnet ein hohes Potenzial künstlerischer Sensibilität, wobei die meisten Kreativen sich allerdings unter prekären Vorzeichen über Wasser halten müssen. Gleichzeitig wird Berlin von Touristen geflutet. Die Mieten steigen und steigen – und mit ihnen die Radikalität.
Viele Künstler nehmen die Verschärfungen des innerstädtischen Klimas sehr bewusst wahr, ihre Reaktionen darauf sind höchst unterschiedlich. Die Überhitzungen im System des finanzmarktgetriebenen Kapitalismus finden ihr Spiegelbild im Anachronismus einer künstlerischen Stadtguerilla, die sich mal aufgeregt, mal betulich und kompromissbereit gibt, die sich entweder mit unterschwelliger Aggressivität gegen die Politik auflehnt oder die Welt, die nicht in Ordnung ist, in eben dieser Unordnung ästhetisch thematisiert. Schlichte Wahrheiten sind dabei weder im Politischen noch im Künstlerischen zu haben.
Die Publikation BERLIN.STATUS  [2] fokussiert auf die Jahrgänge 1978–1984, die gleichzeitige Präsentation von Werken von über 50 KünstlerInnen ermöglicht einen Ausblick auf die Potenziale der jüngsten Generation – wobei freilich im Vorfeld bereits deutlich wurde, dass es keinen Knall geben würde, nach dem dann alles anders wäre. Allerdings gibt es ein breiteres Spektrum interventionistischen Denkens und bildmanipulativer Ansätze mit viel Videokunst, etwas Malerei, nonfigurativen Objekten und der für Berlin so typischen Zugewandtheit zu Low-Budget-Materialien. (S. Drühl / Ch. Tannert)

Teilnehmende KünstlerInnen:
David Adamo, Song-Ming Ang, Julius von Bismarck, Thomas Chapman, Lise Chevalier, Mariechen Danz, Simon Denny, Uros Djurovic, Peter Dobroschke, Aleksandra Domanovic, Antje Engelmann, Larissa Fassler, Thilo Frank, Max Frisinger, Wolfgang Ganter, Stefanie Gutheil, Claas Gutsche, Emma Waltraud Howes, Michelle Jezierski, John Kleckner, Christoph Knäbich, Nuri Koerfer, Clemens Krauss, MARCELLVS L., Cyrill Lachauer, Oliver Laric, Daniel Lergon,Jennis Cheng Tien Li, Philip Loersch, Song Lu, Nik Nowak, Tim Plamper, Sophia Pompéry, Gabriel Rossell Santillán, Moritz Schleime, Dennis Scholl, Bettina Scholz, Sarah Schönfeld, Robert Seidel, Pola Sieverding, Natalia Stachon, Tim Stapel, Despina Stokou, Henning Strassburger, Asli Sungu, Reijiro Wada, Johannes Weiss, Clemens Wilhelm, Jordan Wolfson, Michael Wutz, Hui Zhang

 

AUSSTELLUNG
24.05. – 16.06.2013
Di - So: 14 - 19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

ERÖFFNUNG
23.05.2013
19 - 22 Uhr

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin, Senatskanzlei – Kulturelle Angelegenheiten