KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Exhibition

Talya Lubinsky

Marble Dust

Talya Lubinsky’s work contemplates the material relationship between permanence and disintegration embodied in memorial sites and the landscapes of cemeteries. It is at these places where the ostensibly permanent comes into contact with the ephemerality of the disintegrating body. From this inherent tension the artist poses questions about loss and return, absence and presence.
Research on cemeteries in South Africa led Lubinsky to Mamelodi township, North of Pretoria. Mamelodi Cemetery is the place of burial of black political prisoners hanged by the Apartheid state in the 1960s. From 2016 – 2019, the human remains of the murdered activists have been exhumed and returned to the families of the deceased. Almost 60 years after their burial, the bones have disintegrated to the point that they have become dust, indistinguishable particles dispersed within the earth. In the cemetery offices, pages of old ledger books containing grave numbers, names and dates of burials are strewn across the floor and piled in boxes. The paper is disintegrating and torn.
For her exhibition at Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Lubinsky has traced the contours of these decomposing pages and carved them out of marble slabs that she arranges in the exhibition space. The fragility of the paper archives is inverted when it is rendered in marble, a stone that is commonly used for headstones. Marble is also a substance made from the calcium of bones and shells of sea creatures, compacted by heat and geological time. Here, taking seriously the inherent material qualities of commemorative forms becomes a productive tool for contemplating their meaning.

Exhibition
17.01. – 09.02.2020
Tue - Sun: 2 - 7pm
Admission free

Opening
16.01.2020
7 pm

PRESS RELEASE

GRANTEE OF
KfW Stiftung

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Ausstellung

Talya Lubinsky

Marble Dust

Talya Lubinskys Arbeiten sind eine Reflexion über das in Gedenkstätten und Friedhöfen verkörperte Zusammentreffen von Beständigkeit und Zerfall: das scheinbar Dauerhafte trifft auf die Flüchtigkeit des zerfallenden Körpers. Ausgehend von dieser inhärenten Spannung stellt Lubinskys Arbeit Fragen im Hinblick auf Verlust und Rückgabe, Abwesenheit und Präsenz.
Ihre Recherchen in Südafrika führten sie zum nördlich von Pretoria gelegenen Township Mamelodi. Der Mamelodi Cemetery ist Bestattungsort von schwarzen politischen Gefangenen, die durch den Apartheidstaat in den 1960er Jahren zum Tod durch Erhängen verurteilt wurden. Zwischen 2016 und 2019 wurden die sterblichen Überreste der ermordeten Aktivisten exhumiert und ihren Familien zurückgegeben. Fast 60 Jahre nach der Bestattung waren die Knochen nahezu zu Staub zerfallen, nicht mehr unterscheidbare, mit der Erde vermischte Partikel. In den heute noch funktionierenden Friedhofsbüros finden sich zerrissene und teils zerfallene Seiten alter Registraturbücher über den Raum verstreut und in Kartons gestapelt.
Für Marble Dust hat Lubinsky die Konturen dieser zerfallenden Seiten nachgezeichnet und aus Marmorplatten herausgeschnitten, die sie im Ausstellungsraum anordnet. Die Fragilität der Papierarchive wird verkehrt, indem sie in Marmor wiedergegeben werden, einem häufig für Grabmale verwendeten Stein. Marmor ist zugleich eine Substanz, die aus dem Kalzium von Knochen und den Schalen von Meerestieren besteht, die durch Hitze und geologische Veränderungen über die Zeit verdichtet wurden. Diese spezifischen Materialeigenschaften werden durch Lubinskys Arbeiten zu einem Vehikel für das Nachdenken über ihre Bedeutung.

AUSSTELLUNG
17.01. – 09.02.2020
Di - So: 14 - 19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

ERÖFFNUNG
16.01.2020
19 Uhr

KÜNSTLERPORTRAIT
Talya Lubinsky

PRESSEMITTEILUNG

STIPENDIATIN DER
KfW Stiftung