KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Exhibition

Sara Rönnbäck

Liminal Observations

Sara Rönnbäck, Liminal Observations, 2021. Courtesy the artist

In Liminal Observations, the artist Sara Rönnbäck deals with changes of materials in urban space, as well as in nature. Her sculptures and installations are reminiscent of plastiglomerates, a term used to describe the coming and holding together of different sediments by means of molten plastic. Like the striking “bowerbird”, which sorts and collects the same colour or shape to decorate its futuristic-looking nest, Rönnbäck searches for material in her surroundings and transports it to her studio, where the blossoms, leaves, twigs or stones, as well as plastic parts or bottle tops are then examined for their potential. A floor work that runs through the room in organic, flowing forms becomes the setting for her hybrid sculptures, which were created from her collection. As in much of her work, the relationships between time, body and space are central.

“Liminality” as an anthropological term is currently undergoing a major revival. Originally, it described the threshold state in which individuals or groups find themselves after they have ritually detached themselves from one system in order to be able to accept new ones. In view of the drastic ecological changes we are confronted with, reception is expanding away from the individual towards a holistic understanding of the liminal conditions in our environment. In this sense, the exhibition provides a very personal insight into what the artist perceives to be an ongoing evolution. In addition to the expansive installation, Rönnbäck displays her journal in an intimate setting, revealing notes, photographs and studies of her recent experiences between asphalt-covered Berlin and the nature outside her home in the Swedish provinces, near the Norwegian border.

Sara Rönnbäck *1988, lives in Oslo and Värmland, Sweden. Her recent exhibitions include Ephemeral Situations, NoPlace, Oslo (2017), Box Summer Studio, Röhsska Museum, Gothenburg, Consciousness in the Time of Kairos, Kurant, Tromsø (2018), Fragile Times, Galerie im Körnerpark, Berlin (2020). Since 2015, she has been working with Daniel Slåttnes on the project Conversation between Bodies, which has been shown in various formats at BOA, Atelier Nord and RAM Galleri in Oslo, Kunstmuseet in Nord-Trønderlag, Aldea in Bergen, Rackstadmuseet Arvika and Oppland Kunstsenter, Lillehammer, among other places. Her upcoming exhibitions will be shown at Kongsvinger Kunstforening (2021) and Kunstnerforbundet, Oslo (2022). Sara Rönnbäck is a grantee of the Office for Contemporary Art Norway-OCA.

Exhibition
01.10. – 24.10.2021
Tue - Sun: 2 - 7pm
Admission free

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Ausstellung

Sara Rönnbäck

Liminal Observations

Sara Rönnbäck, Liminal Observations, 2021. Courtesy the artist

In Liminal Observations beschäftigt sich die Künstlerin Sara Rönnbäck mit den Veränderungen der Materialien in urbanen Räumen sowie in der Natur. Ihre Skulpturen und Installationen erinnern an „Plastiglomerate“ – ein Begriff, der die Verschmelzung unterschiedlicher Sedimente mit Plastik bezeichnet. Wie der prominente „Bowerbird“, der Gleichfarbiges oder Gleichförmiges sortiert, um sein futuristisch anmutendes Nest zu dekorieren, sucht Rönnbäck in ihrer Umgebung Material, transportiert dieses in ihr Atelier, wo anschließend die Blüten, Blätter, Zweige oder Steine sowie Plastikteile und Flaschenverschlüsse auf ihre Potenziale untersucht werden. Eine Bodenarbeit, die in organisch-fließenden Formen durch den Raum verläuft, wird zum Setting für ihre hybriden Skulpturen, die aus dieser Sammlung entstanden. Wie in vielen ihrer Arbeiten sind die Beziehungen zwischen Zeit, Körper und Raum zentral.

„Liminalität“ als anthropologischer Begriff erfährt momentan ein großes Revival. Ursprünglich beschreibt er den Schwellenzustand, in dem sich Individuen oder Gruppen befinden, nachdem sie sich rituell von einer Ordnung lösen, um Neues akzeptieren zu können. Angesichts der drastischen ökologischen Veränderungen, mit denen wir konfrontiert sind, erweitert sich die Rezeption weg vom Menschen hin zu einem ganzheitlichen Verständnis der liminalen Zustände in unserer Umwelt. In diesem Sinne vermittelt die Ausstellung einen ganz persönlichen Einblick in ein von der Künstlerin empfundenes ständiges Entwickeln. Neben der raumgreifenden Installation zeigt Rönnbäck in einem intimen Setting ein Journal, in dem sie Notizen, Fotografien und Studien zu ihren jüngsten Erfahrungen im asphaltierten Berlin und in der Natur vor ihrem Haus in der schwedischen Provinz nahe der norwegischen Grenze preisgibt.

Sara Rönnbäck (geb. 1988) lebt in Oslo, Norwegen, und Värmland, Schweden. Zu ihren letzten Ausstellungen gehören Ephemeral Situations, Noplace, Oslo (2017), Box Summer Studio, Röhsska Museum, Göteborg (2019), Consciousness in the Time of Kairos, Kurant, Tromsø (2018), Fragile Times, Galerie im Körnerpark, Berlin (2020). Seit 2015 arbeitet sie zusammen mit Daniel Slåttnes an dem Projekt Conversation between Bodies, das in verschiedenen Formaten unter anderem bei BOA, im Atelier Nord und in der RAM Galleri in Oslo, im Kunstmuseet Nord-Trønderlag, bei Aldea, Bergen, im Rackstadmuseet Arvika und im Oppland Kunstsenter, Lillehammer, gezeigt wurde. Ihre nächsten Ausstellungen werden im Kunstforening in Kongsvinger (2021) und im Kunstnerforbundet in Oslo (2022) zu sehen sein. Sara Rönnbäck ist Stipendiatin des Office for Contemporary Art Norway – OCA.

AUSSTELLUNG
01.10. – 24.10.2021
Di - So: 14 - 19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

KÜNSTLERPORTRAIT
Sara Rönnbäck