KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Exhibition

Prajakta Potnis

the kitchen debate

Prajakta Potnis’s work is concerned with reciprocal relationships between the hidden and the visible, the private and the public, and inner and outer worlds. Walls both inside and out, but also skin as the delimitation of her own body, are metaphorical concepts that she understands as models of thought and makes into the object of artistic handling.

In the course of her research on the Cold War, Potnis came across an ideological contest that became well-known as “The Kitchen Debate”, between the Vice President of the USA at the time, Nixon, and Soviet Minister President Khrushchev. In the context of the American National Exhibition in Moscow 1959, the official aim of which was to promote understanding between the opposing nations, the two statesmen became involved in an improvised but heated debate about the advantages and disadvantages of communism and capitalism in front of live cameras in the kitchen of an American model house.

In her multimedia installation the kitchen debate Potnis takes up this anecdote with a staging of household devices that are common today,  and creates new referential systems that go beyond the historical ideologies and raise current questions about the links between the political and the private spheres. In addition, the kitchen is examined as a place in which changes in cultural customs are manifest.

A catalogue entitled Store in a Cool and Dry Place will be published for the exhibition by Verlag Kettler, including essays by Zasha Colah, Atreyee Gupta and Merel van Tilburg (eds.: Nicola Müllerschön, Christoph Tannert).

Prajakta Potnis is a grantee of the KfW Stiftung. http://www.kfw-stiftung.de 

Exhibition
10.10. – 02.11.2014
Tue - Sun: 2 - 7pm
Admission free

Opening
09.10.2014
7 pm

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Ausstellung

Prajakta Potnis

the kitchen debate

Prajakta Potnis setzt sich in ihrer Arbeit mit dem wechselseitigen Verhältnis von Verborgenem und Sichtbarem, von Privatheit und Öffentlichkeit, von Innenwelt und Außenwelt auseinander. Wand und Mauer, aber auch Haut als Begrenzung des eigenen Körpers sind metaphorische Begriffe, die sie als Denkmodelle versteht und zum Gegenstand der künstlerischen Bearbeitung macht.

Im Zuge ihrer Recherchen zum Kalten Krieg stieß Potnis auf den als „The Kitchen Debate“ („Die Küchendebatte“) berühmt gewordenen ideologischen Wettstreit zwischen dem damaligen US-amerikanischen Vizepräsidenten Nixon und dem sowjetischen Ministerpräsidenten Chruschtschow. Im Rahmen der Amerikanischen Nationalausstellung 1959 in Moskau, die offiziell die Förderung des Verständnisses zwischen den beiden verfeindeten Nationen zum Ziel hatte, lieferten sich die beiden Staatsmänner vor laufender Kamera in der Küche eines amerikanischen Modellhauses eine improvisierte, hitzige Debatte über Vor- und Nachteile des Kommunismus und des Kapitalismus.

In ihrer multimedialen Installation the kitchen debate greift Potnis mit einer Inszenierung von heute alltäglichen Haushaltsgeräten diese Anekdote auf und schafft neue Bezugssysteme, die über die historischen Ideologien hinaus aktuelle Fragen nach dem Zusammenhang von politischem und privatem Raum aufwerfen. Darüber hinaus wird die Küche als Schauplatz verhandelt, an dem sich der Wandel kultureller Gepflogenheiten manifestiert.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint im Verlag Kettler ein Katalog mit dem Titel Store in a Cool and Dry Place mit Essays von Zasha Colah, Atreyee Gupta und Merel van Tilburg (Hrsg.: Nicola Müllerschön, Christoph Tannert).

Prajakta Potnis ist Stipendiatin der KfW Stiftung, Frankfurt a.M.
http://www.kfw-stiftung.de 

AUSSTELLUNG
10.10. – 02.11.2014
Di - So: 14 - 19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

ERÖFFNUNG
09.10.2014
19 Uhr

KÜNSTLERPORTRAIT
Prajakta Potnis