KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Exhibition

Ouassila Arras

UNDER LINE

Ouassila Arras, ciment on ciment, 2020. Courtesy The Left Place – The Right Space, Reims

In her artistic work, Ouassila Arras questions cultures of memory, biographies and narrative structures and illustrates accesses to and exclusions from society. To illustrate this, she symbolically uses natural materials that surround us in everyday life. In her exhibition UNDER LINE, she shows a floor installation that changes over the course of the exhibition, inspired on the one hand by the infrastructure in Berlin’s streets and on the other by her research in German and French school books used  for history lessons. In Berlin, the artist studied the floors in the urban space and discovered that in addition to asphalt and cobblestones, quadratic stone slabs are used on Berlin pavements, which, inconspicuous as they are, are hardly mentioned in the city’s events. In her exhibition, they become the main character. In the form of concrete casts, they are located in the centre of the room and encourage visitors to walk on them. They are covered with a surface of rust that, manipulated by the artist, shows different stages of transformation. In the course of the exhibition, the installation is largely fragmented by visitors walking on it.

Ouassila often works with everyday objects and natural materials that, due to their transformability, bring life into the exhibition space and can be read as a metaphor for biographies that gain little access to the Western and European canon or are largely silenced by the enormous pressure to integrate into societies. She is mainly concerned with the subliminal information that objects and metaphorically people carry with them and embody when they inhabit places. Ouassila traces the threads of fragmented life stories, especially of people whose voices are missing from textbooks and archives.

Ouassila Arras *1993 in France, lives and works in Reims. In 2018, she won the PRISME prize at the Musée des Beaux-Arts de Reims. Her recent exhibitions include Plein jeu #2, Frac Champagne-Ardenne (2019), Des Histoires d’eau, CAC of Tanneries (2020), A Spoonful Of Sugar, Fiminco Foundation, Romainville (2020), BREEZE #3, GBagency Gallery, Paris (2021), Artpress Contemporary Art Biennial, MAMC, Saint-Étienne. Sheis co-founder of the artist-run space The Left Place – The Right Space, which opened in Reims in 2020. Ouassila Arras is participating in the residency programme AZ – ALLER & ZURÜCK, organised by the Goethe-Institut Nancy, the Goethe-Institut Strasbourg and the Bureau des arts plastiques of the Institut Français Germany. The programme is kindly supported by the Franco-German Youth Office (DJFW), the DRAC Grand Est and the Centre Français de Berlin.

 

Exhibition
01.10. – 24.10.2021
Tue - Sun: 2 - 7pm
Admission free

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Ausstellung

Ouassila Arras

UNDER LINE

Ouassila Arras, ciment on ciment, 2020. Courtesy The Left Place – The Right Space, Reims

Ouassila Arras hinterfragt in ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit Erinnerungskulturen, Biografien und Erzählstrukturen und beleuchtet Zugänge und Ausschlüsse in und aus der Gesellschaft. Zur Veranschaulichung nutzt sie natürliche Materialien, die uns im Alltag umgeben. In UNDER LINEzeigt sie eine sich während der Dauer der Ausstellung verändernde Bodeninstallation, die zum einen von der Infrastruktur in Berliner Straßen und zum anderen von ihrer Recherche in deutschen und französischen Schulbüchern für den Geschichtsunterricht inspiriert wurde. In Berlin hat sich die Künstlerin mit den Böden im Stadtraum auseinandergesetzt und herausgefunden, dass auf den Gehwegen neben Asphalt und Kopfsteinpflaster quadratische Kunststeinplatten verbaut wurden, die in der Stadtgeschichte, unscheinbar wie sie sind, kaum erwähnt werden. In ihrer Ausstellung werden diese zur Hauptfigur. In Form von Betonabgüssen befinden sie sich im Zentrum des Raums und animieren dazu, sie zu begehen. Sie sind überzogen mit einer Rostschicht, die, manipuliert von der Künstlerin, unterschiedliche Stadien von Transformation aufzeigt. Im Laufe der Ausstellung wird die Installation von den Besucher*innen durch das Betreten zunehmend fragmentiert werden.

Die Künstlerin arbeitet häufig mit Alltagsgegenständen und natürlichen Materialien, die aufgrund ihrer Wandlungsfähigkeit Leben in den Ausstellungsraum bringen und als Metaphern für Biografien gelesen werden können, die wenig Zutritt in den westlichen und europäischen Kanon bekommen oder durch den enormen Integrationsdruck in Gesellschaften weitestgehend verstummen. Dabei geht es ihr hauptsächlich um die unterschwelligen Informationen, die über Objekte ausgedrückt und von Menschen, wenn sie bestimmte Orte bewohnen, mittransportiert werden. Ouassila spürt den Fäden fragmentierter Lebensgeschichten nach, insbesondere von Menschen, deren Stimmen in Schulbüchern und Archiven fehlen.

Ouassila Arras (geb. 1993 in Frankreich) lebt und arbeitet in Reims. 2018 gewann sie den PRISME-Preis im Musée des Beaux-Arts de Reims. Zu ihren jüngsten Ausstellungen gehören Plein jeu #2, Frac Champagne-Ardenne (2019), Des Histoires d’eau, CAC of Tanneries (2020), A Spoonful Of Sugar,Fiminco Foundation, Romainville (2020), BREEZE #3,GBagency Gallery, Paris (2021), Artpress Contemporary Art Biennial, MAMC, Saint-Étienne. Sie ist Mitbegründerin des Artist-Run Space The Left Place – The Right Space, der 2020 in Reims eröffnet wurde. Ouassila Arras ist Stipendiatin des Residenzprogramms AZ – ALLER & ZURÜCK, organisiert durch das Goethe-Institut Nancy, das Goethe-Institut Straßburg und das Bureau des arts plastiques des Institut Français Deutschland. Freundlich unterstützt durch das Deutsch-Französische Jugendwerk (DFJW), die DRAC Grand Est und das Centre Français de Berlin.

 

AUSSTELLUNG
01.10. – 24.10.2021
Di - So: 14 - 19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

KÜNSTLERPORTRAIT
Ouassila Arras