KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Exhibition

OPEN WINDOW

SEULKI KI

About Invisible Fear, single channel video (videostill), black & white, 6 min 32 sec, 2020

About Invisible Fear is a metaphor for the dread we feel towards death and invisible beings. We have an interest in things that cannot be seen but easily sensed. I started using the format of a will, imagining I was encountering death.

The focus moves from written language to a performance. The movements themselves are recorded, rather than the information. Ink is applied on the left hand holding the paper and on the right hand writing. Traces of the hands’ motions on both the desk and the paper appear. The original purpose, delivering information of this will for the future, is lost, as only I know what was to be written. – Seulki Ki

OPEN WINDOW is a series of presentations by the artists-in-residence at Künstlerhaus Bethanien, who currently don’t have the chance to show their work in the usual Open Studios and exhibitions. Their works can be seen from 4pm to 12am at the window front, Kottbusser Str 10 each day. Initiated by Arthur Debert.

Exhibition
15.01. – 01.02.2021
Mo - Sun: 4pm - 12am
Admission free

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Ausstellung

OPEN WINDOW

SEULKI KI

About Invisible Fear, Ein-Kanal-Video (videostill), schwarz & weiss, 6 Min 32 Sek, 2020

„About Invisible Fear ist eine Metapher für die Furcht, die wir gegenüber dem Tod und dem Unsichtbaren empfinden. Wir haben ein Interesse an Dingen, die wir nicht sehen, aber wahrnehmen können. Ich begann mit dem Format eines Testaments zu arbeiten und stellte mir vor, ich würde dem Tod begegnen.

Der Fokus verschiebt sich von der geschriebenen Sprache hin zu einer Performance. Die Bewegungen selbst werden aufgezeichnet, nicht die Informationen. Die Tinte wird auf die linke Hand, die das Papier hält, und auf die rechte Hand, die schreibt, aufgetragen. Sowohl auf dem Schreibtisch als auch auf dem Papier erscheinen Spuren der Bewegungen der Hände. Der ursprüngliche Zweck, die Übermittlung von Informationen dieses Testaments für die Zukunft, geht verloren, da nur ich weiß, was geschrieben werden sollte.“ – Seulki Ki

OPEN WINDOW ist eine Präsentationsreihe der Artists-in-Residence im Künstlerhaus Bethanien, die derzeit keine Möglichkeit haben, ihre Arbeiten in den üblichen Offenen Ateliers und Ausstellungen zu zeigen. Ihre Werke sind täglich von 16 bis 12 Uhr an der Fensterfront, Kottbusser Str. 10, zu sehen. Initiiert von Arthur Debert.

AUSSTELLUNG
15.01. – 01.02.2021
Mo - So: 16 - 24 Uhr
Eintritt frei

KÜNSTLERPORTRAIT
Seulki Ki