KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Exhibition

Mike Bourscheid

Sunny Side Up and other sorrowful stories

Mike Bourscheid, Agnès, Leony, Jean and Karl smoking, 2021, inkjet print. Photo: Tom Hsu. Courtesy the artist

In Sunny Side Up and other sorrowful stories, Mike Bourscheid stages costumes, props and his new film Agnes into a walk-in spatial installation. As is often the case in his artistic work, he plays with interpersonal relationships. Based on film props and inspired by experiences of his childhood and the relationship with his single mother as well as his absent father, Bourscheid developed the script. Agnes consists of film footage taken from his parents’ home as well as footage shot on the film set at Künstlerhaus Bethanien. The artist himself becomes the protagonist, who is hindered by his costumes and at the same time given new abilities, through his shirt for example, on whose back he has installed an Ouija board that can serve as a communication device through personally defined rules and can, for example, reach his deceased stepfather.

The daily confrontation of the body in the household and the performance of care in general are central. The routine that emerges in the repeated washing of clothes, the dishes, keeping things tidy or sweeping the floor is staged in a very playful way. With his usual craftsmanship, Bourscheid made further props, fosuch as gloves and socks, to which he attached wigs. In this way, the props appear highly obstructive to household chores, while at the same time revealing a commentary on the affectionate, as well as often absurd attention paid to everyday objects. The film, which is supported by ASMR sounds getting under the skin, also include camera shots that are reminiscent of the stagings in classic horror movies. Clichés about materials and fields of activity with masculine and feminine connotations are exhibited without being judged. Instead, they speak for the many identities that are learned within society or within the family and can permanently change.

MIKE BOURSCHEID (born in Luxembourg) lives and works in Vancouver, Canada. He studied at the Université d’Aix-Marseille and at the Universität der Künste in Berlin. The solo exhibition Idealverein is on view at the Heidelberger Kunstverein until 31 October 2021. Bourscheid represented Luxembourg at the 57th Venice Biennale (2017). He has exhibited at the Haverford Centre Philadelphia, Kunstverein Braunschweig, Nanaimo Art Gallery and Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’Art Contemporain (Luxembourg). Mike Bourscheid is a grantee of the Ministry of Culture of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. www.mikebourscheid.com

Exhibition
01.10. – 24.10.2021
Tue - Sun: 2 - 7pm
Admission free

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Ausstellung

Mike Bourscheid

Sunny Side Up and other sorrowful stories

Mike Bourscheid, Agnès, Leony, Jean and Karl smoking, 2021, inkjet print. Foto: Tom Hsu. Courtesy the artist

In Sunny Side Up and other sorrowful stories inszeniert Mike Bourscheid Kostüme, Requisiten und seinen neuen Film Agnes zu einer begehbaren Rauminstallation. Wie oft in seiner künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung thematisiert er zwischenmenschliche Beziehungen. Ausgehend von Filmrequisiten und inspiriert durch Erlebnisse seiner Kindheit und das Verhältnis zu seiner alleinerziehenden Mutter sowie zu seinem abwesenden Vater entwickelte Bourscheid das Drehbuch. Agnes besteht aus filmischem Material, das aus dem Elternhaus des Künstlers stammt sowie aus Aufnahmen, die im Filmset im Künstlerhaus Bethanien gedreht wurden. Der Künstler selbst ist der Protagonist seines Films – durch seine Kostüme zwar eingeschränkt, aber zugleich auch mit neuen Fähigkeiten ausgestattet, wie zum Beispiel durch sein Hemd, auf dessen Rückenteil ein Ouija-Brett installiert ist, das durch ganz persönlich definierte Regeln als Kommunikationsgerät dienen kann, um etwa den verstorbenen Stiefvater zu erreichen.

Das tägliche Agieren des Körpers im Haushalt und die Performanz von Pflege im Allgemeinen, die Routine, die sich im wiederholten Wäschewaschen, Geschirrspülen, Ordnunghalten oder beim Bodenkehrenzeigt, wird spielerisch inszeniert. In seiner üblichen handwerklichen Sorgfalt produzierte Bourscheid weitere Requisiten, zum Beispiel Handschuhe und Socken, an die er Perücken knüpft:Hilfsmittel, die als höchst hinderlich für die Arbeit im Haushalt erscheinen und gleichzeitig die liebevolle, freilich oftmals absurde Hinwendung zu Alltagsobjekten und -riten künstlerisch kommentieren. Einzelne Passagen des Films, der durch eindrückliche ASMR-Sounds begleitet wird, erinnern an Inszenierungen in klassischen Horrorfilmen. Klischees über angeblich männlich und weiblich konnotierte Gerätschaften undTätigkeitsfelder werden visualisiert, aber nicht bewertet. Stattdessen sprechen sie für die vielen Identitäten, die sich in Gesellschaften herausbilden und sich verändern können.

Mike Bourscheid, geboren in Luxemburg, lebt und arbeitet in Vancouver. Er studierte an der Université d’Aix-Marseille und an der Universität der Künste in Berlin. Seine Einzelausstellung Idealverein ist noch bis zum 31.10.2021 im Heidelberger Kunstvereinzu sehen.Bourscheid vertrat Luxemburg auf der 57. Biennale in Venedig (2017). Er stellte im Haverford Centre Philadelphia (USA), im Kunstverein Braunschweig (Deutschland), in der Nanaimo Art Gallery (Kanada) und im Casino Luxembourg – Forum d’Art Contemporain aus. Mike Bourscheid ist Stipendiat des Kultusministeriums des Großherzogtums Luxemburg.

AUSSTELLUNG
01.10. – 24.10.2021
Di - So: 14 - 19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

KÜNSTLERPORTRAIT
Mike Bourscheid