KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Exhibition

Kandis Friesen

These arms of mine

Kandis Friesen, Untitled (These arms of mine), 2021, detail, archival inkjet print. Courtesy the artist

Kandis Friesen’s solo exhibition These arms of mine is grounded inthe relations of the materiality of stone, memory, and power. Thinking through their distributed formations in the world around us – as in architectures, monuments or landscapes – the artist began this work with the Schwerbelastungskörper (german:Heavy Load-Bearing Body), a giant concrete column in the Tempelhof district of Berlin. Built during the National Socialist era in 1941 using forced labour it was used to test the suitability of the swampy Berlin soil as part of the redesign plans to transform Berlin into the “world capital Germania”. Since the massive cylinder could not be removed after World WarII, it remained as a monument itself and has been steadily sinking further into the groundever since.

Drawing on the form, material, and sound-image of stone structures in the city and beyond, the exhibition functions as a montaged site, where processes of construction and circulation overlap. Using dimensional lumber, sound blankets, found objects, field recordings in video and sound– the installation is joined through Friesen’s poetic script, a “film without images” about the temporality and materiality of stone. In this experimental narrative, leaps between time and place emerge. It connects the imperial with the individual, places of remembrance with places of destruction, and legacies of violence with legacies of power and wealth. These arms of mine is part of an ongoing series of works that explore sound and monuments as site-specific, resonant materials.

Friesen’s work mainly uses collage and assemblage to sort ways of seeing surfaces and their sounds. She uses the acoustics of architectures, song, spoken language and oral history to create acoustic territories that can be heard and felt. Her montage process leads to the construction of a “diasporic site-specificity”, through which the fixed can be refused, andconstantly changing structures can be made visible.

Kandis Friesen (b. 1978) is an interdisciplinary artist based in Tiohtià:ke/Montréal and Berlin. In 2022, she will present a major solo exhibition at the Museum of Modern Art, Odessa, Ukraine. She recently presented solo exhibitions at Plug In ICA (Winnipeg, Treaty 1 territory), TRUCK Contemporary Art (Mohkinstsis/Calgary) and the Chicago Architecture Biennial at the Roman Susan Art Foundation (Zhigaagong/Chicago). As a filmmaker, she has been featured at the FIFA Festival International du Film sur l’Art and the Jihlava International Film Festival. Kandis Friesen is a grantee of the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie du Québec and the Québec Government Office in Berlin.

Exhibition
01.10. – 24.10.2021
Tue - Sun: 2 - 7pm
Admission free

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Ausstellung

Kandis Friesen

These arms of mine

Kandis Friesen, Untitled (These arms of mine), 2021, detail, Archivdruck. Courtesy the artist

In ihrer Einzelausstellung These arms of mine beschäftigt sich Kandis Friesen mit den Beziehungen zwischen dem Material Stein, Erinnerung und Macht. Es geht um die Distribution und das Vorkommen des Werkstoffs in der Welt – in Architekturen, Denkmälern oder Landschaften. Als Ausgangspunkt nahm die Künstlerin den Schwerbelastungskörper in Berlin, eine riesige Betonsäule im Bezirk Tempelhof. Während des Nationalsozialismus 1941 unter Einsatz von Zwangsarbeiter*innen errichtet, diente er dazu, die Eignung des sumpfigen Berliner Bodens im Rahmen der Neugestaltungsplanungen zur Umgestaltung Berlins in die „Welthauptstadt Germania“ zu prüfen. Da der massive Zylinder nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg nicht entfernt werden konnte, blieb er als Relikt stehen und versinkt seither stetig weiter im Märkischen Sand.

Mit einem Zugriff auf die Form, das Material und den Klang von Bauwerken aus Stein in der Stadt und darüber hinaus zeigt Friesen in der Ausstellung die Visualisierung von sich überschneidenden Konstruktions- und Zirkulationsprozessen. Mittels Massivholz, Molton, gefundenen Objekten, Field Recordings in Video und Ton wird die Installation durch ein poetisches Skript zusammengehalten – einen „Film ohne Bilder“ über die Temporalität und Materialität von Gestein. In dieser experimentellen Erzählung entstehen Sprünge zwischen Zeit und Ort. Sie verbindet das Imperiale mit dem Individuellen, Orte des Erinnerns mit Orten der Vernichtung und Vermächtnisse der Gewalt mit dem Erbe von Macht und Reichtum. These arms of mine ist Teil einer fortlaufenden Serie von Arbeiten, in denen Klang und Monumente als ortsspezifische, resonierende Materialien untersucht werden.

Friesen verwendet in ihrer Arbeit hauptsächlich Collagen und Assemblagen, um Sichtweisen auf Oberflächen und deren Klänge neu zu sortieren. Dabei nutzt sie die Akustik von Architekturen, setzt Songs, gesprochene Sprache und mündlich überlieferte Geschichte ein und erzeugt auf diese Weise akustische Territorien, die gehört und gefühlt werden können. Ihr Montageverfahren führt zur Konstruktion einer „diasporischen Ortsbezogenheit“, durch die Festgesetztes abgelehnt, sich ständig verändernde Strukturen aber auch sichtbar gemacht werden können.

Kandis Friesen (geb. 1978) ist eine interdisziplinäre Künstlerin, die in Tiohtià:ke/Montréal und Berlin lebt. Im Jahr 2022 werden ihre Arbeiten in einer Einzelausstellung im Museum of Modern Art, Odessa (Ukraine) zu sehen sein. Kürzlich präsentierte sie Einzelausstellungen im Plug In ICA (Winnipeg/Vertragsgebiet 1), bei TRUCK Contemporary Art (Mohkinstsis/Calgary), und im Rahmen der Chicago Architecture Biennial in der Roman Susan Art Foundation (Zhigaagong/Chicago). Als Filmemacherin war sie auf dem Festival International du Film sur l’Art und dem Jihlava International Film Festival vertreten. Kandis Friesen ist Stipendiatin des Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, des Ministère des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie du Québec und der Vertretung der Regierung von Québec in Berlin.

AUSSTELLUNG
01.10. – 24.10.2021
Di - So: 14 - 19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

KÜNSTLERPORTRAIT
Kandis Friesen