KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Exhibition

Hamlet Lavastida

Cultura Profiláctica

Hamlet Lavastida, Cultura Profiláctica (detail), 2021, papercut on wall. Courtesy the artist.

Cultura Profiláctica – with this title Hamlet Lavastida opens his solo exhibition at Künstlerhaus Bethanien, making use of a term from the health sector, which he believes has revealed numerous structures of a prophylactic culture during the pandemic, not only in his country of origin, Cuba, but worldwide.

Lavastida is showing two immersive installations made of paper cuts on opposite walls. On one side, the transcription of Javier Caso’s interrogation (from 2020), which went viral, is linked to a letter by the poet Heberto Padilla written to the revolutionary government in 1971. On the opposite wall, the artist displays a compiled archive of various iconographic and linguistic testimonies from the period in which the institutionalisation of socialism took place in Cuba, especially between the 1960s and 80s. Through his personal confrontation with the cultural archives, which are not recognised as such within Cuban society, Lavastida creates a register and demands a critical examination of Cuban history. In doing so, he criticises the lack of education and memory work in the social system of today’s Cuba.

The exhibition is accompanied by a catalogue including a text by Coco Fusco and Iván de la Nuez.

Hamlet Lavastida (*1983 in Havana/Cuba, lives and works in Havana) works with posters, prints, collages, photos and videos. His work, in the sense of representative archaeology, arose from the need to create an objective criterion for certain hidden areas of the implementation, administration and functioning of state political practices in Cuba. Central to Lavastida’s artistic practice is the re-appropriation of texts, images and symbols, as well as political speeches and ideological terminologies, which he questions critically within the framework of his work. The relevant factor is their reinterpretation using the same or a similar format to that in which they were originally created. Hamlet Lavastida is a grantee of the KfW Stiftung.

 

Exhibition
16.04. – 24.05.2021
Tue - Sun: 2 - 7pm
Admission free

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Ausstellung

Hamlet Lavastida

Cultura Profiláctica

Hamlet Lavastida, Cultura Profiláctica (Detail), 2021, Papierschnitt auf Wand. Courtesy the artist.

Cultura Profiláctica ­– mit diesem Titel eröffnet Hamlet Lavastida im Künstlerhaus Bethanien seine Einzelausstellung und greift damit einen Begriff aus dem Gesundheitswesen auf, das in seinen Augen in der Zeit der Pandemie zahlreiche Strukturen einer prophylaktischen Kultur nicht nur in seinem Herkunftsland Kuba, sondern weltweit offenbart hat.

Lavastida zeigt zwei sich gegenüberstehende immersive Wandinstallationen aus Papierschnitten. Auf der einen Seite wird eine Transkription des viral gegangenen Verhörs des Künstlers Javier Caso (von 2020) mit einem Brief des Poeten Heberto Padilla (aus dem Jahr 1971) an die revolutionäre Regierung verknüpft. Auf der anderen Wandseite präsentiert der Künstler ein zusammengetragenes Archiv verschiedener ikonografischer und sprachlicher Zeugnisse aus der Zeit der Institutionalisierung des Sozialismus in Kuba, vor allem aus den 1960er bis 1980er Jahren. In seiner persönlichen Konfrontation mit den kulturellen Archiven, die innerhalb der kubanischen Gesellschaft als solche nicht anerkannt werden, schafft Lavastida eine Art Register und fordert eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit der kubanischen Geschichte. Er kritisiert dabei den Mangel an Aufklärung und Erinnerungsarbeit im Gesellschaftssystem des heutigen Kuba.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog im Kettler Verlag mit einem Text von Coco Fusco und Iván de la Nuez.

Hamlet Lavastida (*1983 in Havanna/Kuba, lebt und arbeitet in Havanna) arbeitet mit Plakaten, Drucken, Collagen, Fotos und Videos. Seine künstlerische Praxis im Sinne einer gegenständlichen Archäologie entstand aus der Notwendigkeit, ein objektives Kriterium für bestimmte verborgene Bereiche der Umsetzung, Verwaltung und Funktionsweise staatlicher politischer Praktiken in Kuba zu schaffen. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Wiederaneignung von Texten, Bildern und Symbolen sowie politischen Reden und ideologischen Terminologien, die er im Rahmen seiner Arbeit kritisch hinterfragt. Relevant ist deren Neuinterpretation unter Verwendung des gleichen oder eines ähnlichen Formats, in dem sie ursprünglich geschaffen wurden. Hamlet Lavastida ist Stipendiat der KfW Stiftung.

AUSSTELLUNG
16.04. – 24.05.2021
Di - So: 14 - 19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

KÜNSTLERPORTRAIT
Hamlet Lavastida