KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Künstler*innen

Lotte Nielsen

Denmark

Image: Lotte Nielsen, Letters from St. Petersburg, 2021, film still

Lotte Nielsen is a Danish artist and filmmaker based in Copenhagen. Her films often feature groups of young LGBT people across different cultures and center on exploration of group identity and the repercussions of national political conditions in every facet of these individuals’ lives. Her primary motivation is to amplify the voices of groups whose voices are suppressed and to enable these people to share their stories and the difficulties they experience; those that are specific to them, and those which are the result of specific national political circumstances.

One of the most important aspects of her projects is collaboration with the participants of the films, who share their experiences in their own words. Nielsen blends these stories and perspectives on issues faced by the LGBT community with her own observations and aesthetic interpretation of the local atmosphere and architecture. The resulting projects have qualities of both documentary and art films. She is concerned with how her films can be used as an effective tool in social policy work.

In Letters from St. Petersburg, Nielsen uses poetic, color-saturated imagery to draw an empathetic portrait of a group of young people from the Russian LGBTQ + organization Coming Out. Founded in their personal universes, from which they share music, lyrics and stories, we experience a group of young people who stand by their identity, expression and way of life in a country where the government seeks to forcibly oppress all who do not adhere to the conservative, patriarchal values that they promote.

Lotte Nielsen attended the Kunstskolen Spektrum in Copenhagen, and the Royal College of Art and Goldsmiths University in London. Her works have previously been shown at Nikolaj Kunsthal, GL. Strand in Copenhagen, KUNSTEN in Aalborg, CPH: DOX, and Whitechapel Gallery in London, among other festivals and venues.

STAY
01.01. – 30.06.2022

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Künstler*innen

Lotte Nielsen

Dänemark

Bild: Lotte Nielsen, Letters from St. Petersburg, 2021, film still

Lotte Nielsen lebt und arbeitet als Künstlerin und Filmemacherin in Kopenhagen. Ihre Filme zeigen oft Gruppen von jungen Menschen der LGBTQ*-Gemeinschaft aus verschiedenen Kulturen und konzentrieren sich auf die Erforschung der gemeinsamen Identität und der Auswirkungen nationaler politischer Bedingungen auf alle Facetten des Lebens dieser Menschen. Ihre Hauptmotivation ist es, die Stimmen dieser Gruppen zu verstärken und es ihnen zu ermöglichen, ihre Geschichten und die Schwierigkeiten, die sie erleben, mitzuteilen – ihre persönlichen wie auch jene, die aus den jeweiligen nationalen politischen Umständen resultieren.

Einer der wichtigsten Aspekte in ihrer filmischen Arbeit ist die Zusammenarbeit mit den Teilnehmer*innen, die ihre Erfahrungen in ihren eigenen Worten wiedergeben. Nielsen verbindet diese Geschichten und Perspektiven auf die Probleme der LGBTQ*-Gemeinschaft mit ihren Beobachtungen und ästhetischen Interpretationen der lokalen Atmosphäre und Architektur; die so entstehenden Werke haben sowohl die Qualitäten eines Dokumentar- als auch eines Kunstfilms. Die Künstlerin beschäftigt sich mit der Frage, wie ihre Filme als wirksames Instrument in der sozialpolitischen Arbeit eingesetzt werden können.

In Letters from St. Petersburg zeichnet Nielsen mit poetischen, farbgesättigten Bildern ein einfühlsames Porträt einer Gruppe junger Menschen der russischen LGBTQ*-Organisation Coming Out. Ausgehend von den eigenen, persönlichen Universen der Jugendlichen, aus denen sie Musik, Texte und Geschichten mit uns teilen, erleben wir eine Gruppe junger Menschen, die zu ihrer Identität, ihrem Ausdruck und ihrer Lebensweise in einem Land stehen, in dem die Regierung versucht, all jene mit Gewalt zu unterdrücken, die sich nicht an die konservativen, patriarchalischen Werte halten, die sie propagiert.

Lotte Nielsen studierte an der Kunstskolen Spektrum in Kopenhagen sowie am Royal College of Art und am Goldsmiths, University of London. Ihre Arbeiten wurden bereits in der Nikolaj Kunsthal, Kopenhagen, im Kunstforeningen GL STRAND, Kopenhagen, im Kunsten Museum of Modern Art, Aalborg, auf dem CPH: DOX Dokumentarfilmfestival und in der Whitechapel Gallery, London, gezeigt.

AUFENTHALT
01.01. – 30.06.2022