KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Exhibition

Sharon Houkema

Why tidy my exhibition space when the whole world is in a mess?

Sharon Houkema’s artistic work explores the various mechanisms with which the world is perceived and reflected.
In her latest project, the title of which takes up and adapts a Greenpeace slogan, Houkema directs her attention towards the idea of environmentalism and illuminates it from artistic vantage points by focusing on the images and narrative structures that it employs.
For her exhibition project in Künstlerhaus Bethanien, Houkema collected campaign material and corresponding items of clothing from conservational activists, as well as ‘green’, i.e. recycled or in the broadest sense ecologically correct, products from all spheres. She then arranged the stickers, coffee mugs, items of clothing, banners and toys from the past decades and the present day into an exhibition which is reminiscent, as a whole, of a not very tidy but exclusively ecologically furnished home situation. It is likely to raise a wide range of questions for the viewer due to the different, sometimes conflicting messages of these objects grouped by the artist according to purely formal criteria.
As in all her works, the artist is concerned with the question of the perspective from which things are regarded, something that changes according to our own position, and also with the way in which formal conditions – in both a concrete and metaphorical sense – are able to change the meaning of a narrative.

Exhibition
18.01. – 10.02.2013
Tue - Sun: 2 - 7pm
Admission free

Opening
17.01.2013
7 - 10pm

Sharon Houkema is a grantee of the Mondriaan Fonds, Amsterdam.

KÜNSTLERHAUS

BETHANIEN

Ausstellung

Sharon Houkema

Why tidy my exhibition space when the whole world is in a mess?

Sharon Houkemas künstlerische Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit den unterschiedlichen Mechanismen, die unsere Wahrnehmung der Welt prägen und reflektieren.
In ihrem neusten Projekt, dessen Titel auf einen Greenpeace-Slogan anspielt, richtet Houkema ihr Augenmerk auf den Umweltschutzgedanken, die damit verbundene Bewegung und die Bilder und Erzählstrukturen, derer sich diese bedient.
Für ihr Ausstellungsprojekt hat Houkema Kampagnen-Material und entsprechende Kleidungsstücke von Umweltaktivisten, sowie ‘grüne‘, d.h. recycelte oder im weitesten Sinne ökologisch korrekte Produkte aller Sparten gesammelt und Sticker, Aktivistenbanner, Kaffeebecher, Kleidung und Spielzeug aus den vergangenen Jahrzehnten und der Gegenwart zu einer, an eine rein ökologisch bestückte Wohnsituation erinnernden Installation arrangiert. Diese ist dazu angetan, beim Betrachter aufgrund der verschiedenen, teils gegensätzlichen Botschaften der von Houkema nach rein formalen Gesichtspunkten gruppierten Gegenstände ganz unterschiedliche Fragestellungen aufkommen zu lassen.
Wie in all ihren Werken beschäftigt sich die Künstlerin mit der Frage der Perspektive, aus der die Dinge betrachtet werden und die sich je nach Standort verändert, und mit der Art und Weise, wie formale Rahmenbedingungen – im konkreten wie übertragenen Sinne – die Bedeutung einer Erzählung verändern können.

AUSSTELLUNG
18.01. – 10.02.2013
Di - So: 14 - 19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

ERÖFFNUNG
17.01.2013
19 - 22 Uhr

KÜNSTLERPORTRAIT
Sharon Houkema

Sharon Houkema ist Stipendiatin des Mondriaan Fonds, Amsterdam
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Botschaft der Niederlande, Berlin